

South Carolina House of Representatives Legislative Oversight Committee

## Chair Jeffrey E. "Jeff" Johnson

William H. Bailey Gary S. Brewer April Cromer Kambrell H. Garvin Leon Douglas "Doug" Gilliam Thomas Duval "Val" Guest, Jr. William M. "Bill" Hixon Joseph H. "Joe" Jefferson, Jr. Wendell Keith Jones Roger K. Kirby Josiah Magnuson John R. McCravy, III

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811 Room 228 Blatt Building

Sent via Electronic Mail

Carri Grube Lybarker, Administrator/ Consumer Advocate South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs 293 Greystone Boulevard, Ste. 400 Columbia, SC 29210

RE: House Legislative Oversight Committee - Insurance Fraud Study

DATE: August 31, 2023

Dear Director Lybarker,

The House Legislative Oversight Committee has convened an ad hoc committee to investigate insurance fraud in South Carolina. This issue contributes to increased costs to consumers and businesses and compromises public safety. According to the 2021 Insurance Fraud Division Annual Report, fraud continues to persist and grow in the state.<sup>1</sup>

The ad hoc committee will seek to understand the following: (1) fraud mitigation duties assigned to agencies tasked with the prevention, investigation, reporting, and prosecution of insurance fraud; (2) prevalence of insurance fraud in the state; (3) types of insurance fraud and the associated cost to residents of the state; (4) gaps in existing state law which may impair insurance fraud mitigation; (5) prevalence of fraud in the mediation process; (6) availability of fraud prevention and identification training at state agencies; (7) process for educating insurance organizations regarding identification and reporting of fraud to state authorities; and (8) opportunities to improve interagency communication.

This letter serves as notification of the ad hoc committee's intent to request the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs' participation in this review.

Thank you for your service to the state of South Carolina and all the people who live, work, and visit our great state. Committee staff will reach out to you to coordinate the first meeting.

## First Vice-Chair Chris Wooten

Timothy A. "Tim" McGinnis Adam M. Morgan Travis A. Moore Russell L. Ott Marvin R. Pendarvis Marvin "Mark" Smith